Dangerous Entertainment News – Tuesday, June 21

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand you're welcome.

Oh, hey friend. Thanks for stopping by, even if you did so only because I listed the hot blonde (Nicky Whelan) in the tags below. Muahahahahahaha. Well, since you’re here and everything, you might as well check out the links below, chalk full o’ the hottest entertainment news of the day along with some (mostly) derisive commentary.

/Filmcast Ep. 152 – Green Lantern (Guest: Matt Singer from IFC) (/Film) – I’ve never actually listened to this podcast, but if it’s anything like the rest of what Film produces, then it will probably skip HIV and give you full-blown AIDS. I jest. Actually, I love pretty much everything on /Film and though I haven’t had a chance to listen to the /Filmcast as of yet, I’m sure it’s great. The funny thing is, they have a habit of doing almost the exact same thing that Professor C (aka Pete) and I do each week on the Bobcast. Somewhere the Waltsicle is humming “It’s a Small World” while giving a fudgecicle (don’t ask) to a Mouseketeer. This week they are beating us to the punch on “Green Lantern” by a week because of some bad timing, but I would just like to point out that we discussed the Ed Helms tattoo this week almost a full day earlier. Suck it /Film! Actually, keep up the good work guys.

Richard Linklater Has Three Years of Shooting Left with Child Actor on “Boyhood” (/Film) – I haven’t really enjoyed much of what Richard Linklater has done in recent years (although School of Rock was kind of enjoyable), but the man does have some quality films on his resume. This sounds like a really original idea though, so here’s hoping that the story is as good as the idea behind it. I’m a’ rooting for him.

Dark Tower Budget Cuts Not That Deep; Project to Include Game Component (Badass Digest) – First off, saying that a large-scale blockbuster movie based on a hit literary franchise will have a “game component” is akin to saying that Keira Knightley will have guys hitting on her in any bar she walks into or that Kim Kardashian has had more dick in her than a dumpster full of discarded Trojans (be safe kids!). Honestly though, I am super excited about this project and especially hot on the heels of the praise of Howard and his longtime bromance, Brian Grazer, from yesterdays DEN. I absolutely love the Dark Tower series and need to pick up the graphic novels, though I was hoping they would become available for an iPad comic app. Oh well. This project is more ambitious than most that I can remember, so here’s hoping that they do it right. Plus, if Javier Bardem is going to be Roland, then I am so in I would go through that aforementioned dumpster (Kim, not the actual dumpster) just to get there. Seriously, if you haven’t read the Dark Tower series, pick it up.

“Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” Enters All-time Top 10 (Coming Soon) – Finish that sentence. In it’s honor, here is our own Top 10 . . . list

10) Top 10 Shittiest Blockbusters

9) Top 10 Worst Johnny Depp Movies

8 ) Top 10 Rob Marshall Films (by default)

7) Top 10 Mermaid Horror Films

6) Top 10 Movies Air-mailed in by Two Out of the Three Top Stars (namely, Geoffrey Rush and Ian McShane)

5) Top 10 Fountain of Youth Movies

4) Top 10 Fourth Installments of All-time (think about that one)

3) Top 10 Worst King of England and Spanish Armada Impersonations

2) Top 10 Worst Rob Marshall Films (I think it will hold up)

1) Top 10 Reasons to Always Put Keira Knightley in Your Movie Whenever Possible

“A Dangerous Method” Trailer: Stately Kink With Fassbender, Mortensen and Knightley (/Film) – See, #1 in action, right here. How can you go wrong? This actually looks pretty interesting and I don’t just mean the kinky shit with Ms. Knightley, although I mostly mean the kinky shit with Ms. Knightley. Honestly though, I’m glad to see that Fassbender is on the rise finally as he deserves. I’m not sure if this is actually a movie that will be a hit in the theaters though and who could blame it unless it’s being released in 3D? I mean, c’mon Hollywood. Get your shit together.

NBC Will Still Air Tracy Morgan’s “Marriage Ref” Episode on July 3 (EW) – Honestly, I can’t believe this and I think people are going to be absolutely shocked by this announcement. Seriously? The “Marriage Ref” is still on the air? How is that possible?

“Green Lantern” Has Lowest Superhero Opening of the Summer, but is it Too Soon to Call it a Flop (EW) – No, not really. I don’t want to get into this too much as Pete and I will be discussing El Lanterno Greeno on next week’s Bobcast, but let’s just say that it’s pretty obvious why it is the worst performing superhero movie of the summer. Cough cough . . . it’s terrible . . . cough cough. Sorry, I really need to  get a sexy cleaning lady in my apartment to both get rid of excess dust and well . . . other stuff. I was rooting for this movie as much as anyone because of my strange hetero-man-crush on Ryan Reynolds, but not even he and a smoking hot Blake Lively (seriously, she wears a dress just lounging around the house?) could save this movie. Oh well.

About bobdanger

It's best if you did not know too much about Robert W. Danger other than the fact that you may call him Bob. It's just safer that way.

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Bob Danger, Da Links and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment