Daily Archives: June 16, 2011

Entertainment News O’ The Day – Thursday, June 16

Welcome back to the most dangerous entertainment news this side of . . . well, the Canadian border? I know know, just go with it. In any event, here are today’s top stories, ripped from the headlines of the world net web.

Borders Line: Has The Time For World War Z Passed? (Badass Digest) – An interesting piece on whether or not the window for WWZ has come and gone. Yeah, it’s not like zombie shit is still popular or anything. Plus, I’ve done too much pimping for this movie already, so I’m sticking to my guns like Plaxico Burress. Too soon?

Film: Newswire: Jason Reitman Signs up Kate Winslet and Josh Brolin for Labor Day (A.V. Club) – I really loved Up in the Air and Juno is better than people give it credit for. Plus, Thank You For Smoking is decent as well. Not sure how this is going to shape up, but it sounds awfully chipper.

Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively Return to Earth for Green Lantern Premiere (Hitfix) – Lively? I’ll say. I’ve never seen Gossip Girl, but I can understand why tons of people watch it. I mean, look at her. Even with her clothes on she’s gorgeous. Also, Ryan Reynolds and other people.

TV: Newswire: It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia’s Rob McElhenny Put on 50 Pounds of Funny, Funny Fat (A.V. Club) – Well, Sunny is one of the funniest shows on TV, even if it did slip a bit last season. Here’s hoping that McElhenny’s putting his own health at risk will help me personally enjoy the show more.

Sony Classics Picks up David Cronenberg’s “A Dangerous Method” (/Film) – Well, this sounds promising. Where the hell has Viggo Mortensen been by the way? Bet you $20 he is laying pipe in Bobcast regular, Keira Knightley. Good for him.

Sequel Bits: Paul Feig Working on Mysterious Reboot, “Ferris Bueller” Sequel May be a Possibility, Killer Klowns to Return From Outer Space (/Film) – Not sure how I feel about a Ferris Bueller reboot. Oh wait, yes I am; negatively. As for Killer Klowns, that is an instant classic. Do yourself a favor and go check it out immediately. Then come back to the blog. Please?

“Moneyball” Trailer is a Little “Oceans Eleven”, a Lot “Friday Night Lights” (/Film) – Ok, I take it back, this trailer looks pretty good. Actually, Moneyball is a great book, but then again, so was The Blind Side. Thanks a lot Sandy.

Is Dave Chappelle Returning to TV? (EW) – Um, well that would be cool as shit.

Aaron Sorkin HBO Pilot Adds Trio (Deadline) – I am really excited about this show. Sorkin + HBO should be a good time. I just hope they give him the time to flesh out the show unlike those douches at NBC when he aired Studio 60 which was criminally underrated. By the way, the show already has Olivia Munn signed on and I would watch her in just about anything. Plus, being on HBO, there’s always the possibility (read: probability) for intercourse.

Page 2: Transformers 3, JJ Abrams, Battleship, Natalie Portman, Ghostbusters, Daniel Day Lewis, Tomorrowland, George Lucas, Cars 2, Tintin, Beetlejuice, Superman, Despicable Me 2 (/Film) – I wish I could quit you Page 2.

Ryan Reynolds Pens EW Profile of Himself (Deadline) – Oddly, not on EW.com. C’mon though, did you read this? Ryan Reynolds is hilarious. Don’t hold it against him that he has Jesus’ abs and sense of  comedic timing. Plus, I really wish I’d had that rape whistle when I first came here.

“Attack the Block” Red-Band Trailer Gives You Reason to Believe (/Film) – C’mon, this looks pretty good. Word from the festival circuit is that it is fairly amazing. It drops July 29th, same day as Cowboys and Aliens. Hmmm, tough choice.

Jurassic Park 4 Could Still Be Happening (Badass Digest) – Um, I’m probably a pass on this one.

Legendary Wants to Make a “Hot Wheels” Movie (/Film ) – Really? Are we that desperate for material? I’ve got a movie idea for you; Marbles! No, wait, I can do better; Bus Stop. Yeah, I can do this all day really.